SdCNHA Board

Board of Directors


President Nick Saenz, Alamosa County








Dennis Lopez

Vice President Dennis Lopez, Alamosa County









Kale Mortensen, Alamosa County

Treasurer Kale Mortensen, Alamosa County









Loretta Website Photo

Loretta Mitson, Conejos County


Commissioner Mitchell Jarvis, Conejos County

Reyes Garcia, Conejos County








Commissioner Helen Sigmond, Alamosa County









Commissioner Augustine “Roy” Esquibel, Costilla County








Maria McMath, Alamosa County

Join the SdCNHA for Its Board Meeting

Join the SdCNHA for board meetings at 6:00 pm the third Wednesday of the month, with exceptions in the months of April, June, July, and December. Meetings are held in rotation between Alamosa, Conejos, and Costilla counties. Contact our office for more details.

Volunteer to be a Board Member

2018 Board Membership Application:  .docx  .pdf

Currently, the Sangre de Cristo National Heritage (SdCNHA) Area is seeking to fill two board member positions from residents in Costilla County. If you enjoy cultural preservation, heritage tourism, and historical work then come thrive in our friendly and collaborative environment.

The Sangre de Cristo National Heritage Area Board of Directors provides the opportunity for local residents to become engaged in a leadership role. The Board is looking to fill openings for residents of Costilla county.  Volunteers in these positions represent the voice of citizens in support of local heritage preservation efforts and the community-oriented mission of the Heritage Area, and are willing to commit to one meeting per month and participation on sub-committees.

Local projects have included historic building rehabilitation, interpretation of historic and scenic/recreational sites, educational programming and cultural events, and documentation of culturally significant components of traditional ways of life. These efforts seek to contribute to community building or heritage tourism, promote a spirit of pride and create a legacy in the Colorado counties of Alamosa, Conejos, and Costilla.

Applicants are encouraged to visit the SdCNHA’s website and review the organization’s Goals and Objectives, found on the Management Plan page:

Completed applications and attachments should be mailed or hand delivered to the SdCNHA at the address noted below:


Sangre de Cristo National Heritage Area

Attention: “Board Position”

P.O. Box 844

Alamosa, CO 81101


Tori Martinez, Executive Director

Sangre de Cristo National Heritage Area